Skip to content
See our Campus Ready site for the most up to date information about instruction.Campus ReadyCOVID Help

About Us

OUR TEAMS


We are a collaborative team comprised of several partners including Academic and Emerging Technologies (AET), the Center for Engaged Teaching and Learning (CETL), the English Language Institute (ELI), and Students Assessing Teaching and Learning (SATAL)

Teaching Commons Venn DiagramELISATALAET

OUR MISSION


Our Mission is to provide a centralized physical and virtual location for programs, resources, and services focused on delivering student-centered, innovative, and high-quality learning experiences to improve student outcomes. Teaching Commons is held by three pillars: 

  • Pedagogy – the development and implementation of high-impact, innovative evidence-based teaching practices
  • Academic Technology – training and adoption of effective and emerging technologies for teaching
  • Education Research – evaluation and investigation to improve programs, teaching, and learning

To accomplish this, Teaching Commons:

  • Provides information and consultation on current educational research, particularly the scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL) and discipline-based education research (DBER), to promote evidence-based instructional practices, services, and programs across the institution
  • Collects, analyzes, and reports data regarding the student experience and identify opportunities to improve teaching and learning in the classroom
  • Supports and trains instructors in active learning, emerging technologies, and other instructional strategies to enhance teaching effectiveness
  • Collaborates with instructors to investigate the impact of instructional innovations
  • Focuses on research and best practices regarding equity and inclusion for first-generation and underrepresented students.

OUR PEOPLE


 

James Zimmerman

James Zimmerman Ph.D.
  • Senior Associate Vice Provost & Dean for Undergraduate Education
  • Director, Center for Engaged Teaching and Learning
  • Teaching Professor of Physics

Ph.D. Chemistry

Pronouns: he, him, his

jzimmerman6@ucmerced.edu

Joan Holmquist

Joan Holmquist M.Ed.
  • Director
  • Academic and Emerging Technologies

M.Ed. Instructional Tools

Pronouns: she, her, hers

jholmquist@ucmerced.edu

Eileen Camfield

Eileen Camfield Ed.D.
  • Faculty Associate
  • Center for Engaged Teaching and Learning

Ed.D. Higher Education

Pronouns: she, her, hers

ecamfield@ucmerced.edu

Cathy Pohan

Cathy Pohan Ph.D.
  • Associate Director
  • Center for Engaged Teaching and Learning

Ph.D. Psychological and Cultural Studies

Pronouns: she, her, hers

cpohan@ucmerced.edu

Jackie Shay

Jackie Shay Ph.D.
  • Associate Director
  • Center for Engaged Teaching and Learning

Ph.D. Quantitative and Systems Biology

Pronouns: she, her, hers

jshay@ucmerced.edu

Sushma Jolly

Sushma Jolly Ph.D.
  • Senior Instructional Designer
  • Academic and Emerging Technologies

Ph.D. Leadership in Higher Education, Educational Administration

Pronouns: she, her, hers

sjolly@ucmerced.edu

Belinda Braunstein

Belinda Braunstein M.A.
  • English Language Institute (ELI) Coordinator
  • Center for Engaged Teaching and Learning

M.A. TESOL

Pronouns: she, her, hers

bbraunstein@ucmerced.edu

Rachel Peters

Rachel Peters M.S.
  • Learning Technologies Manager
  • Academic and Emerging Technologies

M.S. Instructional Technology and Design

Pronouns:

rpeters3@ucmerced.edu

Adriana Signorini

Adriana Signorini M.A.
  • Students Assessing Teaching and Learning (SATAL) Program Coordinator
  • Educational Assessment Coordinator
  • Center for Engaged Teaching and Learning

M.A. TEFL & Applied Linguistics

Pronouns: she, her, hers

asignorini@ucmerced.edu

Edson Gonzales

Edson Gonzales
  • Media Services Coordinator
  • Academic and Emerging Technologies

Pronouns: he, him, his

egonzales@ucmerced.edu

Jodon Bellofatto

Jodon Bellofatto
  • Technology Enhanced Spaces Lead Analyst
  • Academic and Emerging Technologies

Pronouns:

jbellofatto@ucmerced.edu

Nicole Alvernaz

Nicole Alvernaz
  • Learning Technolgies Coordinator
  • Academic and Emerging Technologies

B.S. Broadcast Journalism and Minor in Ag Communication

Pronouns:

nalvernaz@ucmerced.edu

Ramsin Tamraz

Ramsin Tamraz
  • Instructional Video Coordinator

B.A. Art

Pronouns: he, him, his

rtamraz@ucmerced.edu

OUR WEBSITE


Our site is made to be as user-friendly as possible. We have created a system to make it easier for people to move easily from one place to the next. On all our pages we have a left sidebar that houses a link to the homepage, a list of topics on the website, a menu of articles on that page covering the content, and a link to the topic landing page (see image below for more details). If you have any questions about how to use our site, please do not hesitate to reach out to us!